Antique Store Shenanigans

I finally reached a 100 followers ♥♥.

Thank you so much for all your love and support. I definitely will have more DIY posts coming but for today I would like to share some antique-y explorations with y’all. A long post and many pictures coming your way.

An unexpected day off from work gave me the opportunity to explore the local antique / vintage stores. Luckily for me, there are over 10 near where I live that I can explore to my heart’s content.

So the first two stores I checked out were glorious. Aisles upon aisles of old, delicate, vintage, dusty wares and items. I was in heaven. I walked past the old dusty books and almost disintegrating book covers. So beautiful.

The store built a replica of an old French library (they do not know from what time period) but it looked superb and they had a vintage printing press (date also unknown).

IMG_2439

IMG_2444

There were old advertisements and posters for fashion, sodas, cameras, ice cream etc. Took a few to share with you.

IMG_2437

I breezed past the typewriters, some with paper still attached. I couldn’t read what was on it but it was picture worthy 🙂

On to the musical instruments and different phones; wall phones, old designed dusty gold ones, crystal ones….There were so many.

music instrument

Onward I walked, to the ladies section. There were dolls in lacy bridal wear, ragged stuffed quilt bear dolls, teeny little doll furniture.

Long flowing gowns, with matching gloves and hats. I wanted to buy the entire section. Thank god my mom stopped me.

This dress was super blingy and sparkled from a mile away. The tag on it said $6000 with a lot of scribbling. But I think it was only 6000 dollars. IMG_2447

Mason jars full of buttons, crocheted doilies and of course a wooden stand with hand stitched quilts. Old gas irons and rusted sewing machines to round out their sewing section.

A ladies grooming set, with combs and soap. The soap smelt heavenly, and was still quite strong after so long.

FullSizeRender_3 (9)

Moving on to their medical aisle, there was a very rusted, old doctor’s scale.

Old medicine glass bottles and a very old calendar completed the aisle. The calendar’s dials still worked, surprisingly.

Almost done with this post, I swear. I passed through the kitchen section. There were some dull silverware, all bent and curved. Some old soup labels, old spice cans and jars.

An old toaster and a butter churn. There was a dead fly inside the churn 😦

The best part of the kitchen section was this cute herb pillow 🙂

IMG_2504

And finally, some old vintage hand made tree ornaments, with lace and ribbon and gemstones.

IMG_2502

And also a lovely musical fan with a Shakespeare quote. That wasn’t part of the antiques but it looked very elegant, definitely worthy of a picture. So pretty.                                        IMG_2503

Hope you enjoyed the pictures. I will take more trips to other antique stores and will definitely post images 🙂

17 thoughts on “Antique Store Shenanigans

  1. Ule Rolff says:

    Congratulations on the 100 followers from me too. It must have been great searching around in these different antiques. I like your photos on this adventure.
    Nice you visited my blog, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. abbieleighberman says:

    You’ve inspired me to go to the antique stores in Orange, CA. Such beautiful antiques- i love the crystal telephone and the yellow fluffy dress. It reminds me of Belle (i havent seen the new beauty and the beast yet but heard it’s great! Thanks for sharing 😇💚

    Like

Leave a Reply

