Pencil to paper Challenge (Day 1) – Ship

We are taught how to draw from a very young age by first coloring existing images and then drawing with pencils. And it’s usually something simple like shapes, but this helps to enhance and improve creativity so we start drawing on our own.

A lot of us have been sent to art classes…. I know I was, for about 12 years, and I used to love it. I would take my sketchbook and pencil and just draw whatever I wanted to. No hassles of coloring within lines or using markers and staining your clothes.

The older I got, I realized how little of that remained within me and I wanted to change that. So I challenged myself to draw something for 10 consecutive days using only a pencil on paper (preferably white) but I tend to use whatever scraps I find as a form of recycling.

I will be creating more personal challenges like this one, just to get back into a routine of sorts. The next one will be a canvas based challenge.

For my first day, I decided to go back to what I learnt from art class and drew a ship with some shading for contrast šŸ™‚ I will be posting one image every day for the next week.

pencil ship

I would love for you to join me in this challenge. Get that fresh creativity flowing through your veins all the way through your fingers into the pencil šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

