DIY Harry Potter Series – Intro

I am a crazy Harry Potter fan. Wands, Potions, Quidditch, Spells….I love em all. I decided that this year I would make myself a Harry Potter themed Christmas tree, which as Potter fans will know involves an endless number of ideas.

To start of, I decided I needed a Harry Potter ornament (of course!) as well as Ron and Hermione. And this is how it turned out. ( I should have added a mouth to each but I fixed that with the other ones I made).

img_1813     img_1815     img_1817

You will need:

  1. Three old, round christmas ornaments (you can get a whole pack of them at the dollar store or joanns if you don’t have any).
  2. Acrylic Paints ( I used Apple Barrel paints.)
    • Sunkissed Peach (for the skin tone)
    • Black
    • Crimson (for Ron’s hair)
    • Brown (Hermione’s hair, Ron’s freckles)
    • Bright Red / Bright Yellow (Gryffindor scarf)
    • Americana Brand – Bright Salmon (Harry’s scar)
  3. Sharpie marker – Black (to draw on eyes and glasses)
  4. Mod Podge – Gloss

What to do?

  1. Paint the 3 ornaments with SunKissed peach and let dry for 20 minutes. Add 1 or 2 more layers to evenly cover the ornament.
  2. Use a pencil to lightly draw the hairline for all 3 ornaments as well as a line going around the bottom of the ornament for the scarf.
  3. Paint the hair on each, using the right colors, and let dry. Add another layer if required.
  4. Use bright yellow to cover the bottom of the ornaments tracing over the pencil line drawn.
  5. Use bright red to create strips in between the yellow to get the gryffindor scarf colors.
  6. Use the bright salmon to draw a zigzag scar on Harry’s forehead.
  7. Use the brown paint to put 3 dots each on Ron’s cheeks.
  8. Let the whole ornament dry completely (I left mine for 45 minutes).
  9. Add an even layer of gloss mod podge and let dry for 1 hour. (This step is optional. It just gives the ornament a shiny look).

Ta-da. You’re done!!

You now have 3 awesome ornaments from the series 🙂

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I loved your blog! The stuff related to fandoms is amazing! Btw i dont know why but i was unable to reply to your comment on community pool.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s been happening to me too. Unable to comment on some blogs. Perhaps they closed comments. Thank you for you response 🙂 I have a lot more planned so stay tuned.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment