DIY Harry Potter Series – Quidditch Brooms

Now that I have my Harry, Ron and Hermione ornaments, I decided I needed to get Quidditch brooms into the picture. These were the easiest to make. They’re so cute and tiny. I love miniatures ♥♥♥

I decided to make the Nimbus 2000, Firebolt and Bluebottle.

You will need:

  1. Mini brooms ( I got mine at Michaels; 5 to a pack). Michaels: mini wood broom
  2. Acrylic Paints:
    • Craft Smart – Brick Red
    • Craft Smart – King’s Gold
    • Apple Barrel – Black
    • Craft Smart – Dark Grey
    • Craft Smart – Espresso
    • FolkArt – Terracotta
  3. Washi Tape – Silver, Gold
  4. Mod Podge – Matte

What to do?

  1. I decided to make the Nimbus 2000 first. You will need the brick red, king’s gold paints and gold washi tape.
  2. Paint the entire broom with the brick red and let dry for 30 mins. Add 1 more coat of paint and let dry.
  3. Use the back end of a fine tipped brush to gently write out Nimbus 2000 on the handle of the broom. (Does not have to be exact letters, just a hint of the word is enough).
  4. Let everything dry for 30 mins.
  5. Cut out a small section of the gold washi tape and cut into small, thin strips. Wrap the tape 2-3 times around the middle of the broom (where the stick meets the bristles).
  6. I used matte mod podge over the tape to further secure it.

I repeated the same for the other 2 brooms. The blue bottle was the easiest. Just paint the broom black and add some silver paint to the point where the bristles meet the broom. 🙂

The Firebolt involves a little more paint work.img_1824

 

  1. First, paint the bristles with the Espresso paint.
  2. After drying, paint the portion of the broom attached to the bristles the Dark Grey until the middle of the broom.
  3. After drying, paint the end of the broom with Terracotta until it blends with the grey.
  4. Cut out a small section of the silver  washi tape and cut into small, thin strips. Wrap the tape 2-3 times around the middle of the broom (where the stick meets the bristles).
  5. I used matte mod podge over the tape to further secure it. 🙂

I had 2 extra brooms in the pack and I used metallic red and dark gold to paint them. Added some line details with metallic colors and Voila!! 5 perfect brooms complete to hang on your tree. Just tie some cord to the middle of the brooms and make a loop at the other end to hang. Hope you enjoyed doing this as much as I did 🙂

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Gwen Eleanor says:

    Okay that’s it. I’m following you! Not only because we’re both witches 😉 but because your DIY projects are so great! It is easy to follow and I like that you detail out where to get the materials, the brand you use, etc… Keep blogging!

    Like

    1. thanks a lot 🙂 i’ll def have a lot more DIYs out esp related to the potter world.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment